Careers in Computing

I realise the whole world isn’t inspired by the same things I am, and that’s fair enough. However, on Wednesday, I had the privilege of being invited to share some of my inspiration with a bunch of teenagers at the Liverpool John Moores University career day.

I was asked to talk to year-10 students (14-15 years old) for half an hour covering “careers in computing,” and nearly balked at the enormity of that kind of request. They said it’s OK to narrow it down a bit, so I decided to think more about CompSci and the web. I also took a webby approach to writing this talk (I cheated), and posted this question on Quora:

“If I were to speak to 50 teenagers about why a career in computer science is awesome, what would be a travesty to leave out?”

I grant you, Computer Science isn’t necessarily the best match to a career in computing (indeed, I pointed out to the kids that they can learn to code and contribute to the world’s largest public resource right now). However, a particular answer I received from Ian Dickinson inspired me to trash my “history of computing in Britain” approach  –  Babbage, Lovelace, TimBL etc  –  and rework the talk completely. I’ll share a few of those slides below, and continue to enjoy the glory of geeks sharing their curiosity.careers-talk.004-001careers-talk.005-001 careers-talk.006-001 careers-talk.008-001careers-talk.011-001 careers-talk.012-001

About Zach Beauvais

Zach is an amateur greenwood worker, mainly carving spoons, bowls and kuksas. He's worked professionally as an online editor and community manager.
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

